How does iCloud sync work?

Once iCloud is setup to work with Contacts Journal, all your changes are automatically saved to iCloud and then pushed down to other devices. All your Logs, ToDos, Documents,  and other data are synced over, merged with existing data, and updated inside your app, without you needing to do anything. You just have to open the app and wait for your changes to stream in. You can even work without any connectivity, and your changes will be saved locally and uploaded to iCloud at the next possible opportunity. You will need network connectivity to download data on your other devices, however. 

Depending upon the speed of your network connection and the size of your changes, iCloud can take from a few seconds to a few minutes to push your data to other devices. There is no way to refresh your data manually: you just have to wait for iCloud to push the change to your device. If you are stuck for over 5 minutes, it might help to force-quit the app. [see the “Useful Shortcuts” section for instructions on how to do this]


You can stop using iCloud syncing from within Contacts Journal, from the More -> iCloud Settings page. This will move all the iCloud app data from the device and download it to your local device, and further changes will only be made locally. You can always enable iCloud again at any time.

You can backup your iCloud data occasionally:
iOS: from More -> Manage Data -> choose either “Backup iCloud Data over Email” or “Backup iCloud Data over WiFi”.
Mac: from Contacts Journal Preferences -> Manage Data -> select the Backup button

Please note: backups created from iCloud can have some data missing, from updates which are pending or haven’t been downloaded from iCloud to the device just yet.
 

Feedback and Knowledge Base