How should I do an "iCloud Reset"?


An "iCloud Reset" can help you clean out the iCloud database and then re-sync your Contacts Journal app to iCloud. This can help in situations where iCloud sync seems to have stopped receiving updates on one or more devices. Here are some instructions:

- make sure all devices are updated to iOS9 / Mac OS 10.10 Yosemite, and running the latest version of the app

- iOS: check in the CJournal app -> More -> Contact Us -> About [it should be 3.9]
- Mac:check in the Contacts Journal menu -> About Contacts Journal [it should be 1.2]
 

- make sure that you have "iCloud Drive" enabled

iOScheck in the iPhone/iPad Settings app -> iCloud -> "iCloud Drive" should show On
- Mac
check in the System Preferences app -> iCloud -> "iCloud Drive" should be selected

- on the Contacts Journal app with the latest most-up-to-date data, create a backup of your iCloud data

- iOSfrom More -> Manage Data -> Backups, then select "Backup Now". On the latest backup, select the (i) button, then select "Email Backup" or "Download Backup over WiFi"
- Mac: from Contacts Journal Preferences -> Manage Data -> select the Backup button

- turn off iCloud on all your devices: 

- iOS: from the More page inside Contacts Journal
- Mac: from Contacts Journal Preferences -> iCloud


- delete the iCloud container for Contacts Journal:

iOS:  on the More page, press and hold on the "iCloud" row for over 5 seconds, till an alert pops up. The alert should pop up titled "iCloud Options". If you see the "Enable iCloud" message, you should cancel that and try again. Once you do see the correct popup, select the "Delete Container" option.
- Mac: in Contacts Journal Preferences -> iCloud, the "Sync Setting" button should say "None". Press Alt/Option key and click the button to see more options; then select the "Delete iCloud Data" option

- now wait 10-15 minutes; then on your Contacts Journal app, with the latest data data, turn on iCloud. It should give a message saying "First Time iCloud Sync". If it gives an initial message saying "iCloud data already exists", then press Cancel. It means it hasn't updated from iCloud that you deleted the data. Wait a few minutes before trying to enable iCloud again.

- After it's done transferring the information to iCloud, wait 10 minutes again, then connect your 2nd device to iCloud and let it connect with the existing iCloud data. You should see a message saying "iCloud data already exists". If you get a message saying "First Time iCloud Sync", then press Cancel, and try again in a minute. 





Feedback and Knowledge Base